open seats

Here’s who is hanging ’em up this year in the General Assembly

Sen. Brian Kelsey walks in the state Capitol on March 16, 2020. (Erik Schelzig, Tennessee Journal)

The candidate filing deadline is April 7, but several state lawmakers have already given notice they don’t plan to seek another term this year. Two others have either stepped down or been ousted from their respective chambers amid federal charges.

[Updated on 4-5-22 to add Rep. Eddie Mannis]:

Here’s is The Tennessee Journal’s running tally:


— District 18: Eddie Mannis (R-Knoxville).

— District 24: Mark Hall (R-Cleveland). Running for the state Senate.

— District 26: Robin Smith (R-Hixson). Resigned after pleading guilty to federal charge.

— District 32: Kent Calfee (R-Kingston).

— District 35. Jerry Sexton (R-Bean Station).

— District 52: Mike Stewart (D-Nashville).

— District 59: Jason Potts (D-Nashville).

— District 61: Brandon Ogles (R-Franklin).

— District 63: Glen Casada (R-Franklin). Running for Williamson County Clerk and under federal investigation.

— District 67: Jason Hodges (D-Clarksville).

— District 69: Michael Curcio (R-Dickson).

— District 71: David Byrd (R-Waynesboro).

— District 75: Bruce Griffey (R-Paris). Running for circuit judge.

— District 79: Curtis Halford (R-Dyer).

— District 91: London Lamar (D-Memphis). Appointed to Senate vacancy and running for the upper chamber.


— District 9: Mike Bell (R-Riceville).

— District 19. Brenda Gilmore (D-Nashville).

— District 31: Brian Kelsey (R-Germantown). Under federal indictment.

— District 33: Katrina Robinson (D-Memphis). Ousted following federal fraud conviction.


Posts and Opinions about Tennessee politics, government, and legislative news.