leadership fight

State GOP names own panel to oversee disputed leadership vote in Williamson County

Tracy Miller, right, and his brother, Andy Miller Jr., attend Tennessee Registry of Election Finance meeting in Nashville on Oct. 23, 2012. (AP Photo/Erik Schelzig)

The state Republican Party has stepped into named a special committee to oversee a disputed leadership election in Williamson County after the previous panel resigned in protest.

The new panel includes several who are close to state executive committee members Cindi Miller, who has declined to recuse herself from proceedings while her husband, Tracy Miller, seeks the chairmanship of the local party.

Officials in Williamson County had wanted to enforce the state GOP rules limiting participation in the convention to bona fide party members — i.e., those who have voted in three of the last four primaries — or those who had voted in at least two nomination contests and had written letter from party leaders vouching for them. But Cindi Miller and the state party favored an additional process by which anyone can be vouched for by any member of the state or local executive committee, regardless of past primary voting or party involvement. Critics worry the change will allow Miller to approve or reject voters to her husband’s election contest.

UPDATE: Tracy Miller won the election. Party Chair Scott Golden said a record 609 people voted.

Following the decision, four members of the Williamson County executive committee resigned, including Trey Jones (a staffer for the state Senate’s Government Operations Committee), Annie Osteen, Kilynn Schueler, and Chad Story. Another member, Rachelle McCalmon (the wife of freshman Rep. Jake McCalmon of Franklin), had stepped down earlier.

Here’s the email sent out by the state GOP on Sunday evening.

Dear Williamson County Republicans,

The TNGOP wishes to inform you of the official proceedings regarding the 2023 Williamson GOP Reorganization. 

The previous contest and credentials committee resigned yesterday. While unfortunate, it is the duty of the Tennessee Republican Party to make sure the election process is unhindered and continues to run smoothly. With that, we are happy to announce the hard-working members who stood up to be a part of the new Contest and Credentials Committee. Their names are as follows:

Brenda Davis

Sandi Wells

Holly Ramsey 

Romonte Hamer 

Linda Kollmann 

Judy Oxford

David Grimmett as parliamentarian

The details for the reorganization are the same and are as follows: 

Tuesday, April 18th

Doors open at 4:45 – close at 5:45 p.m.

The convention will begin promptly at 6:00 pm

The Factory at Franklin

Liberty Hall

230 Franklin Rd.

Franklin, TN 37064

Pre-Register for the Convention NOTE: In order to ensure a timely check-in process, we request anyone who plans on attending the convention and has not already done so to pre-register HERE

Convention Voting Eligibility Criteria:

1. Current Williamson County registered voter and resident.

2. Must be actively involved in the state or county Republican party or a recognized Republican auxiliary organization of either.

3. Have voted in at least 3 of the last 4 statewide primary elections: (August 2022, August 2020, March 2020, August 2018).

4.  Voters that did not vote in the 3 of the 4 statewide primary elections will have to be vouched for by any member of the Williamson GOP Executive Committee to the satisfaction of the Williamson GOP State Executive Members.  

We are looking forward to having such excitement surrounding a county election. This shows that the Republican Party continues to grow and develop with each passing day. If anyone has any questions, please contact Tyler Burns at [redacted]. Thanks and have a wonderful Sunday.


Posts and Opinions about Tennessee politics, government, and legislative news.