debt ceiling

5 Tennessee Republicans vote against debt ceiling deal in U.S. House

Five of eight Republican members of Tennessee’s delegation to the U.S. House voted against a last-minute debt ceiling deal to avert the first federal default in that nation’s history.

Voting no were Reps. Tim Burchett of Knoxville, Scott DesJarlais of Sherwood, Diana Harshbarger of Kingsport, Andy Ogles of Columbia, and John Rose of Cookeville.

Voting in favor were GOP Reps. Chuck Fleischmann of Chattanooga, Mark Green of Ashland City, and David Kustoff of Memphis.

“This bill is not ideal,” Green said in a statement. “But considering the make-up of our government, the Republicans punched above their weight class and passed a debt ceiling increase that contained key conservative victories.”

Democratic Rep. Steve Cohen of Memphis also supported the bill.

The measure cleared the House 314 to 117 , with 149 Republicans voting for it and 71 against. Meanwhile, 165 Democrats approved the bill, while 46 opposed.

The bill now heads to the Senate.


Posts and Opinions about Tennessee politics, government, and legislative news.