McNally realigns Senate committees

Press release from Lt. Gov. Randy McNally

NASHVILLE — Lt. Governor Randy McNally (R-Oak Ridge) today announced state Senate committee assignment changes for the second annual session of the 110th General Assembly. The changes come as a result of the resignation of three Senate members since the legislature adjourned in May. Two of the resigning senators, Doug Overbey and Jim Tracy, accepted presidential appointments.

“I am proud the Senate’s superior membership caught the attention of our President. As a result, new members will now have the opportunity to take on new challenges,” Lt. Governor McNally stated.

“Matching the talents and skills of our members with the proper committee assignments is one of the most important duties I have as Speaker of the Senate,” McNally continued. “Any one of our members could serve in almost any capacity in the Senate and achieve success. We are lucky to have such a wealth of talent in the state Senate.”

“Tennessee’s success is not a matter of luck. It is the result of the right people being in the right places to make the right decisions,” McNally concluded. “Our already strong team will be made even stronger with these changes.”

Notable changes include the appointment of Senator Richard Briggs (R-Knoxville) as chairman of the Ethics Committee replacing former Senator Overbey. Senator Kerry Roberts (R-Springfield) will take over as chairman of the Calendar Committee.

“Richard Briggs is a man of sound judgment, fairness and integrity,” said McNally. “I am confident he will do a great job as our ethics chairman.”

“Senator Kerry Roberts has amassed an impressive record of accomplishment during his time in the Senate,” said McNally. “I believe he will do a great job as Calendar Committee chair.”

Senator Joey Hensley (R-Hohenwald) will now serve as 2nd vice chair of the Finance, Ways and Means and Labor Committee. Senator John Lundberg (R-Bristol) moves to 1st vice chair of the Judiciary Committee.

“Joey Hensley is an outstanding senator who understands the importance of fiscal responsibility and accountability,” said McNally. “I am proud to appoint him as vice chair of Finance.”

“Senator Lundberg understands the judiciary and the importance of law and order,” said McNally. “I know he will do well in this new role.”

New Senate members Senator Art Swann (R-Maryville) and Senator Mark Pody (R-Lebanon) will serve as 1st vice chair of the Transportation Committee and 2nd vice chair of the Energy, Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee respectively.

“Senators Swann and Pody have significant legislative experience from their time in the House,” said McNally. “I look forward to them hitting the ground running with these new assignments.”

Also of note, Senator Becky Massey (R-Knoxville) will now serve on the Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee and Senator Frank Niceley (R-Strawberry Plains) will join the Commerce and Labor Committee. Senator Steve Southerland (R-Morristown) moves to the Ethics Committee.

All standing committee chairman remain the same. The position of Speaker Pro Tempore will be appointed at a later date.

The Senate has nine standing committees and four select committees: Commerce and Labor; Education; Energy, Agriculture, and Natural Resources; Finance, Ways and Means; Health and Welfare; Government Operations, Judiciary; State and Local Government; Transportation and Safety; Ethics; Delayed Bills; Rules; and Calendar.

3 Responses to McNally realigns Senate committees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Posts and Opinions about Tennessee politics, government, and legislative news.