Harwell names Doss, Farmer, Travis as new House committee chairs

The House has three new committee chairmen under the committee appointments for the 110th General Assembly announced today by House Speaker Beth Harwell.

They are:

-Rep. Barry Doss, R-Leoma, who replaces Rep. Jimmy Matlock, R-Lenoir City, as chairman of the House Transportation Committee. Matlock unsuccessfully challenged Harwell as House speaker last month in House Republican Caucus voting. (He no longer has a seat on the panel, which will be an early hurdle for Gov. Bill Haslam’s anticipated gas tax proposal.)

-Rep. Andrew Farmer, R-Sevierville, who will chair the House Civil Justice Committee, succeeding former Rep. Jon Lundberg, who was elected to a Senate seat in November.

-Rep. Ron Travis, R-Dayton, who will chair the House Insurance and Banking Committee, succeeding former Rep. Steve McManus, who lost a bid for reelection to his House seat.

Otherwise, committee chairs remain the same as in the 109th General Assembly, though there’s some reshuffling in subcommittee chairs and on committee membership.

A list of the new House committee assignments (pdf) is available by clicking on this link: housecommittees110thga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Posts and Opinions about Tennessee politics, government, and legislative news.