Black’s gubernatorial campaign backed by 11 DAs, 23 sheriffs

News release from Diane Black campaign

Gallatin, TN – Today, Diane Black for Governor announced its statewide Law and Order Coalition. 23 Sheriffs and 11 District Attorneys have endorsed Diane’s campaign for governor and signed on to provide guidance on law enforcement issues.

District Attorney Ray Whitley, District Attorney Amy Weirich, District Attorney Russell Johnson, Sheriff Bill Holt, Sheriff Sonny Weatherford, and Former Sheriff Terry Ashe have agreed to co-chair the coalition.

Sheriff Holt, Sheriff Weatherford, Sheriff Ashe, District Attorney Whitley, District Attorney Weirich, and District Attorney Johnson said, “There may be a field of Republicans in the governor’s race, but we believe there is only one true law and order candidate. Diane has a proven record of protecting our Tennessee values and those who enforce them. She is committed to addressing violent crime, and will fight to defend the victims of crime, not the criminals who commit them.  As a nurse, Diane is committed to bringing new ideas to solve the opioid crisis in our state. We are proud to support her as she brings that record to the governor’s office.”
Diane Black has been a strong supporter of President Trump’s common sense policies to protect our country and stop illegal immigration. She will bring these same principles and policies to the governor’s office.

“I’m proud to have such a strong group of law enforcement officials from across Tennessee on my team,” said Diane Black. “These men and women are on the front lines fighting to keep us safe, particularly on the issue of opioids. Their ideas and their experience will be invaluable to me as I travel this state talking to Tennesseans about how to make sure our state is a safe place to live, work and raise a family.”

Members of the Diane Black for Governor Law and Order Coalition:

District Attorneys
Co-Chairman District Attorney General Ray Whitley, 18th Judicial District – Sumner County
Co-Chairman District Attorney General Amy Weirich, 30th District – Shelby County
Co-Chairman District Attorney General Russell Johnson, 9thJudicial District –  Loudon, Meigs, Morgan and Roane Counties
District Attorney General Barry Staubus, 2nd Judicial District – Sullivan County
District Attorney General Jimmy Dunn, 4th Judicial District- Cocke, Grainger, Jefferson and Sevier Counties
District Attorney General Jared Effler, 8th Judicial District – Campbell, Claiborne, Fentress, Scott and Union Counties
District Attorney General Steve Crump, 10th Judicial District – Bradley, McMinn, Monroe and Polk Counties
District Attorney General Bryant Dunaway, 13th Judicial District – Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb, Overton, Pickett, Putnam and White Counties
District Attorney General Tommy Thompson, 15th Judicial District – Jackson, Macon, Smith, Trousdale and Wilson Counties
District Attorney General Rob Carter, 17th Judicial District – Bedford, Lincoln, Marshall and Moore Counties
District Attorney General Garry Brown, 28th Judicial District – Crockett, Gibson and Haywood Counties

Co-Chairman Robertson County Sheriff Bill Holt
Co-Chairman Sumner County Sheriff Roy “Sonny” Weatherford
Co-Chairman Former Wilson County Sheriff Terry Ashe
Knox County Sheriff Jimmy “J.J.” Jones
Bledsoe County Sheriff Jimmy Morris
Cannon County Sheriff Darrell Young
Carroll County Sheriff Andy Dickson
Cheatham County Sheriff Mike Breedlove
Clay County Sheriff Brandon Boone
Cumberland County Sheriff Casey Cox
Dickson County Sheriff Jeff Bledsoe
Grainger County Sheriff James Harville
Hickman County Sheriff Randal Ward
Houston County Sheriff Kevin Sugg
Humphreys County Sheriff Chris Davis
Jackson County Sheriff Marty Hinson
Lincoln County Sheriff Murray Blackwelder
Moore County Sheriff Mark Logan
Obion County Sheriff Jerry Vastbinder
Overton County Sheriff John Garrett
Putnam County Sheriff Eddie Farris
Sevier County Sheriff Ronald “Hoss” Seals
Sullivan County Sheriff Wayne Anderson

One Response to Black’s gubernatorial campaign backed by 11 DAs, 23 sheriffs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Posts and Opinions about Tennessee politics, government, and legislative news.